About Us

The Chittenden County Regional Stormwater Education Program (RSEP) was formed in 2003 to encourage area residents to get personally involved in reducing storm water pollution in Lake Champlain. The effort is conducted as part of public education measures required by federal Environmental Protection Agency storm water system permits.

Chittenden County RSEP uses television, radio, print, and this website to distribute messages linked to specific stormwater problems, such as proper pet waste disposal, minimizing debris from home projects, proper disposal of toxic chemicals, safer car washing, reducing erosion and over fertilization of lawns and gardens. In addition to the multi-channel media campaign, educational events hosted throughout Chittenden County also raise awareness and encourage positive behavior change in residents.

Effective with meetings commencing in November 2015, the Regional Stormwater Education Program and the Chittenden County Stream efforts will be overseen by a separate “MS-4 Subcommittee” of CCRPC’s ad hoc Clean Water Advisory Committee (link)

EPA Background

The federal National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) stormwater permitting program was developed by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in two phases.

Phase I, promulgated in 1990, addresses the following sources:

“Large” and “medium” municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4s) located in incorporated places and counties with populations of 100,000 or more, and Eleven categories of industrial activity, one of which is large construction activity that disturbs 5 or more acres of land.

Phase II, promulgated in 1999, addresses additional sources, including MS4s not regulated under Phase I, and small construction activity disturbing between 1 and 5 acres. In Vermont nine municipalities with municipal separate storm sewer systems (MS4) are required to come into compliance with this Phase II rule.

In late 2000, the Vermont Agency of Natural Resources Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) was authorized by the EPA to implement the stormwater permitting program.

In Vermont nine municipalities with separate storm sewer systems are required to come into compliance with this Phase II rule. Three publicly owned ‘non-traditional’ separate storm sewer systems were also designated. These systems are owned or operated by the Burlington International Airport, the University of Vermont, and the Vermont Agency of Transportation. The regulations apply to areas served by each MS4 that are located either within the Census Bureau urban census designated area or watersheds that are principally impaired by stormwater.